Just Another Brick

Though Pink Floyd’s The Wall was decades away when she wrote, Iran’s pop-star poet, Forough, uses the classic symbol of the wall to take a critical look at gender roles of Iran of the 1950’s once again. From her eponymous second collection, published in 1956. For more info see my first post on Forough: https://persianissugar.wordpress.com/2012/09/02/a-persian-plath/

The Wall

In the fleeting passage of cold moments

Your wild eyes

Build a wall around me

With their silence

I flee from you on roadless roads

*

Until I see the valleys in moon’s dust

Until I wash my body in pools of light

Fill my skirt with desert hyacinths

In the colorful fog of a warm summer morning

and listen to the roosters’ calls atop the villager’s hut

*

I flee from you

To press my legs hard against the grasses

Or to drink the meadow’s cold dew

Within desert folds

*

I flee from you

To see

From craggy peaks lost in clouds of darkness

Faraway seastorms dance

On a deserted beach

*

Sun setting in the distance

I take valleys, mountains, skies

under my wing

like wild doves

I hear happy melodies of desert birds

among dried-out bushes

*

I flee from you

So I can open

Far from you

The way to the city of hopes

And within the city

Undo the heavy lock to the gold castle of dreams

*

But your eyes with their silent cries

Spin a web with those paths before me

Just as they build a wall around me

In their secret’s darkness

*

Finally one day

I flee from doubt’s deceitful gaze

I ooze out like perfume from the colorful rose of dreams

I glide on waves of night breeze tresses

Until I reach sun’s shore

A sleeping world in eternal tranquility

*

I slide softly into a bed of golden clouds

Hands of light sprinkle for the joyous sky

Designs of many intentions

*

I am merry and free there

I stare into a world

Whose paths your deceitful eyes

Spin into a web before me

I stare into a world

That your deceitful eyes

Surround with a wall

Just like the darkness of your secret

 

Translation by: Michelle Quay 

 

Leave a comment